AND…work, work, work!

I haven’t been doing very well with keeping up to date with my blog lately… so sorry!

Life seems to be pretty fast paced here in Madrid! The weeks fly by and I end up wondering where they went to. I’ve now been here for over 2 months!! Sometimes I forget that I actually live in a different country, and then other times I’m blatantly awakened when I stumble upon answering someone in spanish ha! Everyday is still somewhat of an adventure for me.

I have yet to describe my job as working as a language assistant, so here it goes:

+ My day starts around 6:30am and I have to leave my house by 7:45ish in order to get to school on time. My school starts at 9am, but showing up 2 min. before the bell rings or even right at 9 is just fine! My school is very relaxed when it comes to time. At 11, we have a 30 min. break where the kids have recess and the teachers have a little snack break. There is always coffee, little pastries, sandwiches, fruit and cookies available during this time. Afterwards we have class for another hour and then from 12:30-2:30 we have a two hour lunch break. Some of the kids go home for lunch, while others go to the comador (cafeteria) to eat. During this time I eat lunch and then plan my private classes or talk with the other language assistants in my school. After the lunch break there is an hour and a 1/2 left and we end our day at 4pm. I work Monday through Thursday–which means I get a 3 day weekend every week. Yipeeee! It makes it pretty easy to travel during the weekends.

+I work with 1st, 3rd, 5th, and 6th graders. It’s hard for me to choose just one grade that I prefer. Each grade without a doubt has its perks.

+With 1st grade I received kisses and hugs from multiple little girls on the first day, and actually still do! 🙂 Which immediately won me over! Although they don’t understand much of English besides, “My name is….; I have brown eyes; My hair is…..” they are the cutest little things! They talk to me in Spanish, of course, and for the most part I do understand them. The other day, one of the little girl’s started talking (very fast I must add) about how her cousin had made her headband and then completely stopped and asked, “Hablas español?” (The children aren’t supposed to know that we know any Spanish, because if they did they would try to talk more spanish with us than they already do). I said nope and she just looked at me like a deer in headlights and started to go off about how she was supposed to talk to me if I didn’t understand spanish haha. Too funny! We do a lot of singing about the weather, days of the week, etc. so I have a lot of fun in this grade.

+I also particularly like the 5th graders because they are at a level where they are able to talk with me. Although it is very basic it’s great to be able to converse with them and actually joke with them. In this class I always correct the homework and pronounce the words for spellings tests. Today I found it quite funny because someone begged me not to say the words for the spelling test. They said that it was too hard for them to understand me because of my accent. That’s a first! They also gave me an olive this week. They told me to keep it forever that way whenever I go back to the U.S. I will never forget them.

+On Mondays and Tuesdays I also give private English classes to children that go to my school. The classes are strictly conversational and the children I teach speak English fairly well,  so this makes my job pretty easy.

So all in all I’m thoroughly enjoying my job!

I’ll leave ya’ll with a funny comic I found.

abuela

Leave a Reply

